Back to basics

Back-to-Basics-smaller

Back to basics: the clichés of the European startup market.

  1. Look at me and my PowerPoint presentation at this cool startup event.
  2. We don’t have a business model, but it’s a really cool idea.
  3. I’ve just started this company, but I don’t have liquidity or a daytime job to cover my expenses.
  4. We got into this accelerator program and lost about 45% of our shares.
  5. We raised a 6 figure number.
  6. I am a serial entrepreneur, CEO, Managing Director

 

When I look at all these things above, I get a bit frustrated. Many people make it seem like everything is cool and awesome in the startup world. Too be honest, it’s a whole lot different when you got bills to pay, rent an apartment, want to maintain a social life, etc.

In January 2012 I decided to start life, to start working and not take the big jump by founding my own company. However, I kept a close eye on what was going on in the startup scene: helping startups, bringing them ideas and sometimes even getting involved in one or two. For me, this is a way to silently and slowly build towards that day when I’m going to leap to the other side: my own company.

Anno 2013, start-ups are growing fast and rapidly. I’m currently involved in 3 start-up projects and still have a daytime job. My daytime job pays my rent, bills, transportation, phone, food and entertainment. I solely work on these 3 projects after work. There’s plenty of time between 6 PM and 12 PM to get things done. We also live in a society that lets you have 2 days off each week. Think about it… OMG 2 times 24 hours where I can do what I want.

I take this time to work at my dining room table in my apartment; I don’t need a co-working space that is only open during working hours.

When you read the first stories from Silicon Valley, from Steve Jobs and Stephen Wozniak to Bill Gates and Paul Allen. These guys had a daytime job before they leaped into the deep.Jobs worked at Atari whilst founding Apple, Wozniak was working at IBM, and Gates and Allen bluffed their way into selling a piece of software that hadn’t been written yet.

Don’t quit your daytime job just yet. Work after working hours, in the weekends, and you’ll see quick enough whether your project is feasible and scalable. You’ll know when the time is ripe to quit your daytime job and jump into the wild.

Leave a Reply

